Cooke Named Chair-Elect of National Doctors Group

May 15, 2008
Contact: News Office (415) 502-6397

Dr. Molly Cooke, an internist at UCSF Medical Center and a medical educator at UCSF, will become chair-elect of the board of governors for the American College of Physicians (ACP), the nation’s second-largest physician organization.

Her term as chair-elect will begin on May 17 in Washington, D.C., during the ACP annual scientific meeting.

Cooke will become chair of the board of governors in April 2009 and serve for one year. She is currently ACP governor for the Northern California region.

Cooke is a professor of medicine at UCSF, where she is the William G. Irwin Endowed Chair and director of the Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators. The academy was established to serve as a community for medical school faculty with a significant commitment to medical education, to advocate for teachers in the promotion process and to enhance funding in support of teaching. It is nationally recognized as a groundbreaking initiative.

She also is a senior scholar at the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching.

Cooke's medical practice focuses on the care of patients with HIV and other chronic illnesses. Her major professional contributions include seminal works in HIV ethics during the early years of the epidemic. More recently, Cooke has made advancements in medical education, establishing a professional development program for faculty members in the UCSF School of Medicine.

Cooke has been active in the educational, advocacy and governance activities of ACP, both regionally and nationally. She serves on the board of the ACP California Services organization, which works with the Legislature to advance the interests of internists and patients in California. She recently concluded her term as vice chair of the national ACP Health and Public Policy Committee.

A graduate of Stanford University School of Medicine, Cooke completed an internal medicine residency at UCSF, followed by a fellowship in ethics supported by the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation. She is board-certified in internal medicine and has been a fellow of the American College of Physicians (FACP) since 1986. FACP is an honorary designation that recognizes ongoing individual service and contributions to the practice of medicine.

The American College of Physicians is the leading national professional organization for internists — physicians who specialize in the prevention, detection and treatment of illnesses in adults. ACP members include 125,000 internal medicine physicians, related subspecialists and medical students. Founded in 1915 to promote the advancement of the science and practice of medicine, ACP works to enhance the quality and effectiveness of health care by fostering excellence and professionalism in medical practice.

This news release has been modified for the Web site.